January 21, 2018, 08:00:11 AM

Username
Password

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Mod Selector  (Read 38010 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Oggrr
Giant Scorpion
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: May 30, 2015, 07:29:32 PM »

Ello there. Tried to "install" this mod selector but can't get it to work. Having the same problems with Fair Omen, when i mod the game with either Fair or Mod Selector, I am unable to run the game. All i get is a black screen and a total computer freeze wich can only be fixed with a manual reset with the restart button.
Logged
cuthalion
Campaign Creator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 370


View Profile
« Reply #46 on: May 30, 2015, 09:00:22 PM »

Hi,
you have a working Dark Omen have not you?
If so, just go to
http://forum.dark-omen.org/tools/mod-selector-t1118.0.html and download latest mod selector. Place 2 files where Ghabry instructs.

Another way:
download http://forum.dark-omen.org/tools/mod-selector-t1118.0.html and place it on top of a working DO installation (rename the installation just in case overwrite fails to run). This is a version with integrated bug fixes and mod selector.
Logged
Oggrr
Giant Scorpion
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #47 on: May 30, 2015, 09:28:01 PM »

Yes I do. I've tried other mods and all works fine, all done on a fresh clean DO install. The only problem i've had has been with Mod Selector and Fair Omen, and they both give me the same error.
Logged
Oggrr
Giant Scorpion
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: June 01, 2015, 06:37:21 PM »

Forgot to say that I'm playing on Windows 7 64 bit.
Logged
Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #49 on: June 20, 2015, 03:21:47 PM »

Not tested, this is just this one byte change suggested by aqvid, hope this fixed WHMTG_RemoveMagic

Finally fixes Win8

* darkpatch.zip (78.36 KB - downloaded 88 times.)
« Last Edit: June 20, 2015, 07:45:00 PM by Ghabry » Logged

olly
Global Spokesperson
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1844



View Profile
« Reply #50 on: June 20, 2015, 07:49:11 PM »

Works perfectly on Win 8 thanks!

Smiley
Logged

and back in Nuln, the ageing Graf Berhardt smiled his secret smile of pride whenever he heard the latest tales of his eldest son's ever growing chain of glorious victories -(sothr manual)
Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #51 on: November 01, 2015, 11:30:01 PM »

Long time passed but here is a new version.
Sorry I don't have VS2010 anymore, this version will only work under Vista and newer!

This hooks CopyFile, GetFileAttributes and SetFileAttributes so they are redirected to the mod directory.
I hope Get/SetFileAttributes fixed not detected map files... and CopyFile armytmp issues.

Note that you need Compatibility 640x480 and 16bit from Win8 and newer

* darkpatch-2015-11-01.zip (111.59 KB - downloaded 69 times.)
« Last Edit: November 02, 2015, 12:12:13 AM by Ghabry » Logged

Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #52 on: November 02, 2015, 12:14:07 AM »

Code:
CopyFile: d:\spiele\dark omen\gamedata\2parm\allied1.arm to d:\spiele\dark omen\armytmp\player1.arm
Redirected to: D:\Spiele\Dark Omen\Mods\Skaven\gamedata\2parm\allied1.arm -> D:\Spiele\Dark Omen\Mods\Skaven\armytmp\player1.arm
Logged

olly
Global Spokesperson
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1844



View Profile
« Reply #53 on: November 02, 2015, 12:15:53 AM »

Worked perfectly Dark Elves v Skaven on Fortress map and fans can now select their armies without any copy and pasting of army files. I will look forward to adding new maps.


Smiley

Logged

and back in Nuln, the ageing Graf Berhardt smiled his secret smile of pride whenever he heard the latest tales of his eldest son's ever growing chain of glorious victories -(sothr manual)
Aldark
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #54 on: November 02, 2015, 12:13:46 PM »

BOOL WINAPI MyCopyFileA(LPCTSTR lpExistingFileName, LPCTSTR lpNewFileName, BOOL bFailIfExists)

Nicely done! Smiley
Logged
Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #55 on: November 03, 2015, 04:21:18 PM »

Losing focus under Windows 10 results in Dark Omen crashing. Makes debugging almost impossible. In case somebody wants to fix this before I invest time in it. Wink
Logged

olly
Global Spokesperson
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1844



View Profile
« Reply #56 on: November 03, 2015, 11:24:02 PM »

Have been adding new maps with Ghabry using his latest darkpatch.dll

1) Add an empty folder named B6_01 into C:\Program Files (x86)\Dark Omen\GameData\1pbat
2) Add a new mod map named B6_01 into C:\Program Files (x86)\Dark Omen\Mods\Skaven&DarkElvesBETA\GAMEDATA\1pbat  
3) Add B6_01 to the Battles.eng list in the Skaven 1pbat
4) Copy and Paste Trading Post script in WHMTG and rename B1_01 to B6_01 and the game will load the new map as 1st mission.

His hope is to no longer need to make the dummy empty folders in original Dark Omen 1pbat. However, it's fantastic that it works, so I now have my new mod map as B6_01 and my Fortress map as B6_02

Smiley
« Last Edit: November 03, 2015, 11:48:05 PM by olly » Logged

and back in Nuln, the ageing Graf Berhardt smiled his secret smile of pride whenever he heard the latest tales of his eldest son's ever growing chain of glorious victories -(sothr manual)
Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #57 on: November 04, 2015, 01:43:00 AM »

The reason is that the developers use (no idea why) SetCurrentDirectory to move into the map directory and then work with relative paths (e.g. "B1_01.prj").
The problem is now that SetCurrentDirectory fails, because the directory does not exist (and succeeds when the empty directory exists).
This can be worked around by remembering which directory they wanted to change to and just prepend it to the filenames BUT this fails for reading BTB files because instead of opening "B1_01.btb" directly they get the current working directory (which is the wrong one because the call failed) and append "B1_01.btb" and then pass the full pathname (!) to CreateFile.
This means besides SetCurrentDirectory also GetCurrentDirectory must be hooked because they use the result of Get once to generate the BTB path... WTF, why do they do this, was the BTB part written by a different person???

New version! (Sourcecode follows during the next days)

Olly, you can delete the empty folders now Wink
Also fixes the focus lost crash.

Guess I can take a break now again... all bugs fixed.

* darkpatch-2015-11-04.zip (115.41 KB - downloaded 65 times.)
« Last Edit: November 04, 2015, 01:56:56 AM by Ghabry » Logged

olly
Global Spokesperson
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1844



View Profile
« Reply #58 on: November 04, 2015, 06:38:22 PM »

Excellent all works perfectly!

Many thanks

Smiley
Logged

and back in Nuln, the ageing Graf Berhardt smiled his secret smile of pride whenever he heard the latest tales of his eldest son's ever growing chain of glorious victories -(sothr manual)
Ghabry
Developer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1008



View Profile
« Reply #59 on: November 05, 2015, 06:02:55 PM »

Better solution that only hooks SetCurrentDirectory...

But this is really the final final version Wink

Is directly in the download section

Mod Selector
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6   Go Up
Print
Jump to: