March 28, 2024, 02:59:01 PM

Username
Password

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: New Maps. Did anyone create a few or could they?  (Read 24097 times)
cuthalion
Campaign Creator

View Profile
« on: April 22, 2015, 08:59:34 PM »

I am a miserable map editor myself. I remember I used Olly's castle map as the last bonus mission in Chaos Dwarves. What I saw there is there are a lot of different map objects like castle walls, bridges, towers - that are created by Dark Omen developers but none of them actually was used in any default map. And I seem to have figured out why.
Stupid AI that moves troops for computer fails to go around any more or less complicated obstacle. If troops are inside castle wall, they will try to go through that wall like boneheads and never find a gate even though it be broad for large armies. Or if there is a sharp angle on the map before a bridge or a forest, a unit is also stuck there. A player might get around that by giving multiple step-by-step march orders, but computer utterly fails.

Yet, it would be really cool if somone created 2-3 maps w/o complicated objects or with such objects like bridges or walls but w/o any sharp angles...Just so that the maps would be some new experience in a new campaign or multiplayer game. Is it hard?
olly
Global Spokesperson

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 09:19:23 PM »

Map making is the next part of my create a custom campaign and basically if you use my map mod template it would take u about 5mins to make a new plain open map (without obstacles). Totally agree about the AI finding it hard to navigate their way through narrow paths and tunnels/bridges but is more for multiplayer.