Warhammer Dark Omen Forum

Warhammer Dark Omen => Help Section => Topic started by: Katla on March 08, 2019, 01:15:02 AM



Title: Higher resolution?
Post by: Katla on March 08, 2019, 01:15:02 AM
Hello everyone~!

What's up and how's it going? I hope you are all well! :D
I recently dug up Dark Omen from the cellar, where it have been resting for quite some years and ended up here!
The game is running perfect after following the guide on how to install it, thanks so much for the guide! :D

I was however thinking if it would be possible to run the game at a little bit higher resolution? I did read in this thread over here: http://forum.dark-omen.org/help-section/dark-omen-in-full-3d-mode-high-res-xp-and-no-flicker-t248.0.html (http://forum.dark-omen.org/help-section/dark-omen-in-full-3d-mode-high-res-xp-and-no-flicker-t248.0.html)

"Refresh Force actually helps my 3d mode work better on this Nvidia and CRT monitor as now i can play
at 1024 x 768, 32bit @ 75hz Refresh Rate"

Is it posible to achive 1024x768? And if so, how would one do this? :)
I'm running Win 10 if that is to any help at all.

Thanks!


Title: Re: Higher resolution?
Post by: olly on March 08, 2019, 04:40:17 PM
Hi and welcome,

Hehe, I think 10 years I thought it was playing in 1024 x 768 resolution but it was probably running in the default 640x480. However, it was running 3d for the first time on Windows XP. Thankfully Aqrit fixed this issue.

Devast's Dark Omen Reborn remake project is your best bet.

http://forum.dark-omen.org/general-suggestions/dark-omen-reborn-t1393.0.html;msg14491#msg14491 (http://forum.dark-omen.org/general-suggestions/dark-omen-reborn-t1393.0.html;msg14491#msg14491)

:)


Title: Re: Higher resolution?
Post by: Hellvis on April 13, 2022, 08:45:19 PM
Is it posible to achive 1024x768? And if so, how would one do this? :)
I'm running Win 10 if that is to any help at all.

Thanks!


I know it's an old thread, but maybe someone will still find the info useful.
I'm using dgVoodoo 2, a wrapper simulating the Voodoo era graphics cards to play Dark Omen (see this thread http://forum.dark-omen.org/help-section/3d-mode-in-windows-10-t1452.0.html (http://forum.dark-omen.org/help-section/3d-mode-in-windows-10-t1452.0.html) for more info).  There, in DirectX tab, which allows to set up specific graphic settings, is a switch named "resolution" which allows to change rendering resolution of the 3D graphics in the game. Setting it to 1280x960 px effectively doubles the in-game 3D battlefield rendering resolution.
[attachment=1]